Guinness Cupcakes with Salted caramel buttercream

4 Feb

Todays cupcakes are the cupcakes I made for my own birthday (no cake is as good as homemade cake!) I’m a massive chocoholic as well as loving a challenge so I decided to make some cupcakes I had never attempted before.

I love the cake!

I love the cake!

Chocolate Guinness cupcakes with Salted Caramel Marscapone buttercream. Makes 36 approx.

Ingredients:
For the cake:

- 375 ml Guinness

- 330g butter

- 130g cocoa powder

- 400g plain flour

- 350g caster sugar

- 2 tbs baking powder

- pinch of salt

- 3 eggs

- 200g sour cream

For the buttercream:

- 150g caster sugar

- 150g light brown  sugar

- 75g unsalted butter

- 200ml single cream

- 75ml golden syrup

- pinch of salt

- 220g marscapone

- 110g butter

- 750g icing sugar

- 1/2 tsp Vanilla bean paste or 1 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

- Melt together the guinness and butter in a saucepan over a low heat

- When melted, sift in cocoa powder and leave to cool

- Sift in plain flour and baking powder, then add rest of cake ingredients into a bowl and mix well, using a hand or stand mixer.

- Add in chocolatey guinness mixture when cooled and mix well again.

- Scoop the batter (it will be quite wet) into cupcake cases with an ice cream scoop.

- Bake on 180oC for 15 minutes approx.Take out of pan and leave to cool.

- To make the salted caramel, put caster sugar into a pan with 25ml water and let boil (do NOT stir!) until sugar becomes darker. (Approx 8 mins)

- Add in butter, when that is melted add in brown sugar, cream and golden syrup.

- I made a softer sauce, so I let the caramel boil until 113oC then poured into a container.

- To make the buttercream, sift in icing sugar, then add in butter and marscapone, and 2 large scoops of caramel. Save the rest for drizzling!

- Mix well with a hand or stand mixer for about 4 mins, then pipe on top of cupcakes, and drizzle the caramel syrup on top.

- Top with a sprinkle of fleur de sel, and optionally, some glitter!

Look at these lovelies!

Look at these lovelies!

I like these cupcakes as they were moist and very rich, as well as being a proper dense yet satisfying cupcake, I hope you enjoy them as much as I do, and I recommend you have one with a cuppa… in fact that’s what im going to do right now!

Gimme one

Gimme one

One Response to “Guinness Cupcakes with Salted caramel buttercream”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rice Krispy addiction « Cakesnobs - February 8, 2013

    [...] butter to melted white chocolate and mixed well, then poured some of my homemade caramel sauce (recipe here) on top and put in the fridge to set. I will definitely be making these again when I need a quick [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers

