Lemon Elderflower Cake

5 Aug

This cake is the epitome of summer. Light, refreshing, I could eat an ENTIRE loaf in one sitting. Just don’t dare me to do it… because I will…no self control clearly! Anyway, this cake is perfect to take along to a summer picnic, as indeed I did!

IMG_0269

 

IMG_0268

 

Ingredients:

  • 100g butter, or dairy free spread – I used Trex
  • 75g Greek yogurt (I used the Total 0% variety)
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 225g flour
  • 3 ½ tsp baking powder
  • 90ml milk (I used almond milk)
  • 10 ml elderflower cordial

For the elderflower drizzle:

  • 4 tbsp elderflower cordial
  • 4 tbsp white or golden granulated sugar
  • Splash of warm water if needed

Method:

  • Sift all dry ingredients together
  • Melt butter or dairy free alternative or let it come to room temperature
  • Mix all wet ingredients together until fully combined
  • Combine wet & dry ingredients together, mix well
  • Pour batter into greased loaf tin
  • Bake on 225oC for 35-45 mins or until cake is cooked in the middle.
  • Mix together cordial and sugar drizzle whilst you wait
  • When it comes out of the oven, prick it lightly all over with a fork and pour the drizzle on top
  • Wait to cool, and serve!

 

 

